At the Opening Ceremony

I’ve been to a lot of shows, speeches and political events in my life.  I’ve also seen a lot of films and gone to a lot of concerts. This was the best of any of those I’ve ever seen (except for the Obama Denver election).

It was dignified, tightly scripted and managed, poignant, engaging, fun, smart, beautiful, melodious, and accessible.  Plus – it was fun seeing some of the people I’d seen during the campaign – like Eric Lynn (head of the Jewish efforts for Obama). 

When we walked in, there were three awesome or startling visual elements:

1) the small black dots on top of the memorial that were the security detail protecting the president elect (who was also behind bulletproof glass)

the very cool set design they had – including covers for the massive speakers.  the whole set looked like marble that was just a part of the memorial itself. 

The sea of people going all the way back to the tail end of the reflecting pool.  If that was just 250,000, I can’t even fathom what 4 million will look like on Tuesday.  Here’s the panoramic from our seats

Temperature-wise, I was relatively comfortable because of the layers I had on.  It wasn’t bitter, just chilly.

In terms of emotion – the place where I truly lost it was when James Taylor began playing “Shower the People”.  Not only is it my favorite song, I had just shared with my son, Sidney, that it was my favorite song and, when we went through the lyrics, he really loved it.  SO – there I was – listening to James Taylor (and then John Legend and someone else), surrounded by people who had come together to celebrate this nation, watching our president elect, sitting next to my phenomenal husband.  It was entirely overwhelming! (note – I posted an excerpt from it on Facebook)

Apparently, Eric and I (and our friend Steve) are also on the HBO special during Pete Seeger & Bruce Springsteen’s “This Land Was Made for You and Me”  (thank goodness I went to that session during camp to learn that song!)

Here are the pictures I took.  If they don’t cut it – here are the HBO pictures

One response to “At the Opening Ceremony

  1. Thanks for keeping us up to date on the inaugral experience!

Leave a Reply

