Funny working mom moment – especially one without a lot of embedded craft skills

At a work offsite yesterday, for a very sweet bonding exercise, we were surprised by a room full of Valentine’s Day oriented craft components (glitter, stickers, paper, glue, etc…).  So – I made a card for each of my children – hoping that they’d be thrilled to pieces.

While they were both thrilled, what’s even more telling and comical is the rest of their response.

Here’s what my 8 yr old son asked:  “Mom, did you really make this?  How long did you spend on it?  Did you buy it?  Really?  Come on!  Seriously?!”

And here’s the subtext to those questions: “You never spend time on stuff like this for the kids  – there’s no way you could really have done this  + I’m thrilled that you spent this much time on me doing something I know that you don’t really prefer doing”

Here’s what my 5 yr old daughter said: “Mama (with an accent on the 2nd “ma”): it’s okay, but you didn’t say who it’s from (I hadn’t written “love, mama” – I just did “I Love You”).  Plus – it wasn’t right on the front.”

I asked her what she meant by that last comment: “it didn’t have my full name in glitter on the front like it should have”.

Alas – they did love the cards, so it’s a good lesson to take a step back on this every so often, but I should also learn more from my kids – the ultimate teachers.

One response to “Funny working mom moment – especially one without a lot of embedded craft skills

  1. I loved this post. Kids are so honest and great! Your’s sound adorable!

Leave a Reply

