Thank you Anne-Marie Slaughter!

 

Thank you Anne-Marie Slaughter!

About a month ago, I chose to leave my job to focus more on my kids and on the Obama campaign. Prior to that time, I had tried to “do it all” – working 70- 80 hours/week, volunteering extensively on the campaign and spending quality time with my kids.

Sleep? Exercise? Yeah – not so much.

But the ones suffering the most were me and my kids. SO – I reprioritized. And I couldn’t be happier.

For that and several other reasons, Anne-Marie Slaughter’s Atlantic article is a must read and strikes a profoundly deep chord for me. I’m beyond thankful that she wrote it.

What I’m especially excited about is the dialogue that this will generate. For example, in her conclusion, she shares:

We’ll create a better society in the process, for all women. We may need to put a woman in the White House before we are able to change the conditions of the women working at Walmart. But when we do, we will stop talking about whether women can have it all. We will properly focus on how we can help all Americans have healthy, happy, productive lives, valuing the people they love as much as the success they seek.

Some core questions/explorations this spurs are:

  • How are we defining “success”?
  • When will people recognize that “working mother” is redundant?
  • I’m one of the lucky ones who can make that choice. But – how do we make it viable and acceptable for any parent to make that choice?
  • What policies could be legislatively put in place to help?

 

I look forward to hearing from others on this topic!

Leave a Reply

